About Our Company

About Our CompanyDominica Properties Real Estate Limited is a highly motivated Real Estate Company managed by energetic and vibrant professionals. An intense desire to please our customers, coupled with being quick movers for sale of properties, captures the essence of our very being... Read More

Your Name *

Your Email *:

Your Message *:

Our Contact Details

Address: P.O. Box 1063
GPO Roseau
Commonwealth of Dominica

Telephone: (767) 276-4472
Fax: (767) 448-5559

Email: dominica_properties@live.com

A History of Dominica

The island’s indigenous Arawak people were expelled or exterminated by Caribs in the 14th century.

Christopher Columbus (Spanish explorer) discovered Dominica.
France claimed Dominica. Shortly thereafter, French missionaries became the first European inhabitants of the island.
As part of the 1763 Treaty of Paris that ended the Seven Years’ War between the French and the British, the island became a British possession.
Following the abolition of slavery, in 1838 Dominica became the first and only British Caribbean colony to have a Black-controlled legislature in the 19th century.
Dominica became part of the Leeward Island Federation.
1936 to 1958
Dominica was transferred from the Leeward Island Administration and was governed as part of the Windwards.
After the federation dissolved, Dominica became an associated state of the United Kingdom and formally took responsibility for its internal affairs.
Gained independence from the United Kingdom.
Political discontent led to the formation of an interim government.
Interim government replaced by a government led by the Dominica Freedom Party under Prime Minister Eugenia Charles, the Caribbean’s first female prime minister.
In the 2000 elections, the United Workers Party (UWP) was defeated by the Dominican Labour Party (DLP), led by Roosevelt P. “Rosie” Douglas. Douglas died after only a few months in office and was replaced by Pierre Charles
Pierre Charles died in office in January 2004. Roosevelt Skerrit, also of the DLP, replaced Charles as Prime Minister.
Under Prime Minister Skerrit’s leadership, the DLP won elections in May 2005 and in December 2009, winning 18 of the 21 constituencies, with the UWP collecting 3 seats.